Bijepur by-poll: BJD wins By Huge Margin


Bhubaneswar:  Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Win a landslide victory in the by-poll to the Bijepur Assembly Constituency.   BJD candidate Rita Sahu won with a margin of 41933 votes over  BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi.

Rita Sahu polled 102871 votes of a total 181716 ballots casted in favour of as many as 13 candidates in the fray. While Ashok Panigrahi got a total of 60938 votes, Congress candidate Pranaya Sahu managed to garner 10274 votes only, said Returning Officer Tapiram Majhi.

The BJD won a staggering 56 per cent of the polled votes, while the BJP won 33.53 per cent and the Congress a mere 5.65 per cent, said Majhi. Pranaya Sahu also lost his security deposit as he failed to poll 1/6th of the total votes. Reacting over the win, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik thanked the voters and said that a victory by a margin of more than 40000 votes will have impact on future elections.